The School Games

Keeping competitive sport at the heart of schools and providing more young people with the opportunity to compete and achieve their personal best.

The School Games is a national programme which provides four levels of sports competition for Primary and Secondary school children across a variety of different sports.

By 2020 the School Games will be continuing to make a clear and meaningful difference to the lives of even more children and young people.

The School Games will focus on ensuring it is relevant to more children and young people and their lives today allowing more of them to achieve their potential. In driving this forward the School Games will seek to:

  • engender a sense of competence;
  • promote enjoyment; and
  • avoid negative or bad experience and promote a positive one

The Bucks and Milton Keynes School Games consists of a year long programme of Level 1 and Level 2 school sport events for young people delivered by our School Games Organiser network (SGO’s) leading to the Level 3 County School Games Festival.

Level 1: Intra School Competition
Where pupils compete against other pupils at their school.

Level 2: Inter School Competition
Where pupils compete against other schools in the local area.

Level 3: County Festival
A county level showcase of the pupils who have been successful at level 1 and 2 of the competition.

Level 4: National Competition
This is a national multi-sport event, in which the country’s most talented athletes of school age complete if selected by a National Governing Body of Sport.
Further information about the School Games can be found on the official website.

If you would like to find out more about the school games programme in your area please contact your School Games Organiser.

Milton Keynes North
Amber Ollier A.Ollier@radcliffeschool.org.uk
http://www.mkssp.co.uk

Milton Keynes South
Nina Sweetland nsweetland@shlacademy.org
http://www.mkssp.co.uk

Buckingham SSP
Caroline Collie ccollie@buckinghamschool.org

Mandeville SSP
Katy Kelly Katy.Kelly@Mandeville.bucks.sch.uk

Alfriston (South Bucks)
Rachel Hutchinson rachel@alfristonschool.com

Dr Challoners High School
Caroline Yandell caroline.yandell@challonershigh.com

Wycombe
Carl Short cshort@jhgs.bucks.sch.uk 

Sir William Borlase Grammar School
Gen Bailache-Graham gbailhache-graham@swbgs.com

 


The School Games programme is committed to safeguarding and protecting children. If you want to know more or report a concern, click here.