Bucks and Milton Keynes School Games Final Cancelled

It is with huge regret that we have taken the decision to cancel this years Bucks and Milton Keynes School Games Final. Since 2012 the young people of Buckinghamshire and Milton Keynes have enjoyed the experience of coming together for the largest school sport festival in the county.

 

Some 100,000+ young people have been involved in the heats and 1,500 young people come together for the finals at Stoke Mandeville Stadium each July. The Leap team supported by the county’s School Games Organisers work tirelessly to provide an experience which mirrors the Olympics and Paralympic Games at a local level.

 

The huge uncertainty around the duration and impact of Covid-19 virus has made it untenable for us to progress with this year’s final. We are unable to plan as key to the success of the games is our relationship with the 80+ schools normally involved.

 

Leap’s Chair Sue Imbriano added,
“The uncertainty facing schools is challenging enough and to burden schools with extra responsibility at this time simply doesn’t feel right. Cancelling is a bitter disappointment as this represents the county’s own mini Olympics and Paralympics. We will however commit to making the 2021 School Games Final the biggest and best ever.”

 

For more information on the county final event please contact Muhsin Raquib mraquib@leapwithus.org.uk

 

For more information on the local events please contact the School Games Organiser (SGO) for your area:

 

Milton Keynes North School Games Area
Amber Ollier A.Ollier@radcliffeschool.org.uk
http://www.mkssp.co.uk

Milton Keynes South School Games Area
Nina Sweetland nsweetland@shlacademy.org
http://www.mkssp.co.uk

Buckingham SSP School Games Area
Caroline Collie ccollie@buckinghamschool.org

Mandeville SSP School Games Area
Katy Kelly Katy.Kelly@Mandeville.bucks.sch.uk

Alfriston (South Bucks) School Games Area
Rachel Hutchinson rachel@alfristonschool.com

Dr Challoners High School Games Area
Caroline Bird caroline.bird@challonershigh.com

Wycombe School Games Area
Adam Patten apatten@jhgs.bucks.sch.uk

Marlow Sport Partnership
Chris Sewell csewell@swbgs.com