Shortlisted nominees announced for the 2018 Bucks & MK Sport Awards.

It’s that time of year again when we celebrate and honor the people and organisations across Bucks & MK who make sport happen. The quality of nominations was exceptionally high again this year and the expert panel had a tough time shortlisting to the top three nominees in each category.

However after much deliberation, the shortlist has been decided, congratulations to all the nominees.


Group of the year

Halton Tennis Centre
Aylesbury Vale

On the Run
Running Club based in Aylesbury Vale

Wycombe Squash & Racketball Club


Community Coach of the year

Alex Barnes
Tennis coach delivering at Halton Tennis Centre

Emma Dean
Football and Multi-sports coach based in Wycombe

Melanie Timberlake
Ikkaido Martial Arts coach based in Ayesbury Vale


Performance Coach of the year

Sponsored by PJ Care Ltd, Specialist Neurological Care.

Adam Gibson
Coaching Triathlon in Milton Keynes

Kate Porter
Coaching at Marlow Hockey Club

Kevin Brooks
Swimming coach at Wycombe District Swimming Club


Project of the year

Sponsored by Buckinghamshire County Council

Cancer Rehabilitation

Flourish – Couch to 50k introductory cycling programme

Lets do this together…kick start programme


Primary School of the year

Emerson Valley School
Based in Milton Keynes

Iver Village Junior School
In South Bucks

Swanbourne Church of England School
Based in Aylesbury Vale District


Secondary School of the year

Sponsored by The University of Buckingham, Leaders in Entrepreneurship

Denbigh School
In Milton Keynes

St Michael’s Catholic School
In Wycombe district

Wycombe High School
In Wycombe district


Young Leader of the year

Sponsored by Buckinghamshire College Group

Eden Wakefield-James
Leading Netball at St Michael’s School

George Harvey
Leading multiple sports at Waddesdon Secondary School

Isabella Parola
Leading Rugby at John Colet School


Volunteer of the year

Natalie Wilford
Supporting Netball at High Ash and Swanbourne Schools

Sarah Prior
Volunteering at Wycombe Hockey Club

Tina Kershaw
Supporting Squash at Wycombe Squash and Racketball Club


Unsung Hero of the year

Denise Knibbs
Supporting disability sport and activity

Hils Farrar-Hockley
Enabling Hockey to happen

Trevor Saunders
For his support of the Wycombe and South Bucks Leagues.


The shortlisted nominees have been invited to a glittering ceremony on 22nd November where the winners will be announced.