And the shortlisted nominees are…

Each year the Bucks & MK Sport Awards celebrate and honour the people and organisations who make sport happen across the county. This year the standard of nominees was once again exceptional and the task of choosing the top three to be shortlisted was a real challenge for the independent panel. The shortlisted nominees for 2017 are:

Active Workplace of the year

Presented to a business who can demonstrate excellent examples of how they encourage employees to lead a more active lifestyle and engage with their local sporting community.

Aylesbury Vale District Council

Aylesbury College

Wycombe Leisure Centre


Club of the year

Is presented to an excellent club, that has made outstanding efforts to ensure its club is a safe, rewarding and inclusive environment for its members.

Ikkaido (martial arts club based in Aylesbury)

Olney Rugby Club

On the Run


Community Coach of the year

This award recognises the excellent contribution and commitment of a coach to getting more people starting, staying and/or succeeding in sport through coaching.

Herman Fung (coaches badminton in Milton Keynes)

Michael Day (coaches football in and around Wycombe)

Sarah Wilds (coaches martial arts in Aylesbury)


Performance Coach of the year

Is awarded to an individual with outstanding achievements in working to develop emerging performers and/or athletes at the highest level of performance in sport. Note: This award feeds into the sports coach UK National Performance Coach of the Year Award.

Bobby White (coaches handball in and around Aylesbury)

Kathryn Ratnapala (coaches netball in the High Wycombe area)


Project of the year
sponsored by Buckinghamshire County Council

This award celebrates innovative and inclusive projects, which effectively use the momentum from London 2012 and other major sporting events to increase participation in sport.

Active Bucks – Stealth

Keep Active Keep Well

MK Inclusive Tennis


Primary School of the year

Is presented to a primary school which shows outstanding commitment to PE and school sport and is dedicated to providing students with an active start in life.

Bedgrove Junior School

St Michaels CE Combined School

Turnfurlong Junior School


Secondary School of the year

Is presented to a secondary school which shows outstanding commitment to PE and school sport and is dedicated to providing students with an active start in life.

The Buckingham School

Cressex Community School

Great Marlow School


Volunteer of the year

This award celebrates an individual who makes an outstanding contribution to sport by giving their time to make sport happen.

Chris Wilson (volunteers at Milton Keynes rowing club)

Georgie Camfield (volunteers at Wingrave Netball club)

Melanie Timberlake (volunteers with the Disability Karate Federation)


Young Leader of the year
sponsored by Buckinghamshire College Group

Presented to a young person (under 21) who is an excellent and positive role model through PE, school sport and/or community sport.

Adam Woodage (Oly Cats handball club)

Josh Childs (supports multiple activities at Mandeville School, Aylesbury)

Serife Unsal (supports multiple activities at her school)


Unsung Hero of the year (Terry Cook)
sponsored by Stoke Mandeville Stadium, powered by 1Life.

This award is presented to an individual who has made an exceptional long term commitment (often unrecognised and over many years) to making sport happen. This award is named after Terry Cook, former Board member and lifelong dedicated hockey volunteer who sadly lost her brave fight with cancer in 2011.  Note: This award feeds into the BBC Regional Unsung Hero Award.

Alec Tebby (Olney Rugby Club)

Denise Knibbs (Alfriston School)

Martyn Cartwright (Chiltern Harriers Athletics Club)


The shortlisted nominees have been invited to a glittering ceremony on 1st December where the winners will be announced.