The School Games

Getting more young people than ever before enjoying the benefits of playing competitive sport.

The School Games is a national programme inspired by London 2012, which provides four levels of sports competition for Primary and Secondary school children across a variety of different sports.

Within each county, School Games Organisers (SGO’s) plan and deliver an annual programme of competitions which lead up to qualification for the county finals, which here in Bucks is held at the prestigious Stoke Mandeville Stadium, and surrounding venues each summer.

At Leap, our work focus’s on supporting the SGO’s to deliver the level 1 intra school competitions  and level 2 inter school competition alongside co-ordinating the Level 3 county festival.

Level 1: Intra School Competition
Where pupils compete against other pupils at their school.

Level 2: Inter School Competition
Where pupils compete against other schools in the local area.

Level 3: County Festival
A county level showcase of the pupils who have been successful at level 1 and 2 of the competition.

Level 4: National Competition
This is a national multi-sport event, in which the country’s most talented athletes of school age complete if selected by a National Governing Body of Sport.
Further information about the School Games can be found on the official website.

If you would like to find out more about the school games programme in your area please contact your School Games Organiser.

Milton Keynes North
Amber Ollier A.Ollier@radcliffeschool.org.uk
http://www.mkssp.co.uk

Milton Keynes South
Nina Sweetland nsweetland@shlacademy.org
http://www.mkssp.co.uk

Buckingham SSP
Emma Howard enulty@bucksgfl.org.uk

Mandeville SSP
Katy Kelly Katy.Kelly@Mandeville.bucks.sch.uk

Dr Challoners High School
Kate Chaplin kate.chaplin@challonershigh.com

Wycombe
Carl Short sgo@jhgs.bucks.sch.uk 

Sir William Borlase Grammar School
Joe Gleeson jgleeson@swbgs.com

Alfriston (South Bucks)
Rachel Hutchinson rachel@alfristonschool.com

 


The School Games programme is committed to safeguarding and protecting children. If you want to know more or report a concern, click here.